Members of the jury

Dr. Anastasia Crickley

Dr. Anastasia Crickley

Dr Anastasia Crickley is head of the Department of Applied Social Studies at the National University of Ireland in Maynooth. After completing studies in social sciences in Dublin, Swansea and Bradford, she worked in Ireland and the UK and has a long track record of working with minorities in Ireland and Europe. She has been a founding member of a number of innovative agencies, including Pavee Point National Traveller and Roma Centre, the European Network against Racism and the Migrant Rights Centre Ireland. Anastasia was Chairperson of the National Consultative Committee on Racism and Discrimination (1998-2008), Chair of the EU Fundamental Rights Agency and Vice-President of the UN Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination, where she has been particularly active in support of Roma Rights.

 

Maud de Boer-Buquicchio

Maud de Boer-Buquicchio

Maud de Boer-Buquicchio was born in Hoensbroek (Netherlands) in 1944. After completing her studies in French and Law in Leiden in 1969, she began her professional career at the Council of Europe. In various functions at the Council of Europe, she has devoted herself especially to the promotion and protection of human rights. As Deputy Registrar of the European Court of Human Rights, she was associated with the coming into being of the new single European Court of Human Rights. In June 2002 Maud de Boer-Buquicchio was the first woman to be elected Deputy Secretary General of the Council of Europe. In 2007 she was reelected for a second five-year mandate. In this function, she has devoted more specifically her attention to the protection of vulnerable groups, such as national minorities, as well as Roma and Sinti.

Roman Kwiatkowski

Roman Kwiatkowski

Roman Kwiatkowski is one of the most important figures in the civil rights movement of the Roma in Poland, cofounder of the Roma People Association in Poland and has been the chairman of the board since 1997. As part of this function, he organizes cultural and educational events on the history of the Roma minority as well as the annual commemorations at the Auschwitz memorial to remember the victims of the “liquidation” of the gypsy camp (“Zigeunerlager”) on 2nd August 1944. Roman Kwiatkowski was a member of the international committee for the creation of an exhibition on the genocide of the Roma and Sinti in the State Museum of Auschwitz, is a member of the Polish Auschwitz Committee and the author of numerous specialist publications.

Dr. h. c. Manfred Lautenschläger

Dr. h.c. Manfred Lautenschläger

Manfred Lautenschläger is one of the founders of the financial services provider Marschollek, Lautenschläger and Partner AG (MLP), which has been in existence since 1971. He served as its chief executive from 1984 to 1999 and then became chairman of the supervisory board of the company. He founded the Manfred Lautenschläger Foundation in 2002 whose aim is the promotion of science and research, education and training, art, culture, and international understanding. Manfred Lautenschläger recieved an honory doctor of the theological faculty of the Ruprecht-Karls-University of Heidelberg. He has been awarded with the title honory senator of the Ruprecht-Karls-University of Heidelberg and the Hochschule für Jüdische Studien of Heidelberg and is a member of the Board of Governors of the Ruprecht-Karls-University of Heidelberg. Manfred Lautenschläger has been a member of the board of trustees of the Documentation and Cultural Centre of German Sinti and Roma since July 2002. He is the donor of the European Civil Rights Prize of the Sinti and Roma.

Romani Rose

Romani Rose

Romani Rose was born in Heidelberg in 1946. He has been chairman of the Central Council of German Sinti and Roma since 1982 and is also chairman of the Documentation and Cultural Centre of German Sinti and Roma. Together with representatives of minorities from the USA, Mexico, Argentina, Japan, India, Sri Lanka, France and Holland, Romani Rose is a cofounder of the International Movement against Discrimination and Racism (IMADR) and has been a member of its directorate since 1988. As chairman of the Central Council, Romani Rose is also a member of the German Minority Summit, i.e. the regular meeting of the chairs of the national minorities in Germany (Sorbs, Frisians, Danes and Sinti and Roma). In May 2006 Romani Rose was appointed to the International Auschwitz Council as well as the advisory board of the Anti-Discrimination Office of the Federal Republic of Germany.

László Telek

László Telek

László Teleki was born in Nagykaniza, Hungary, in 1959 and after completing a degree in engineering campaigned for the interests of the Hungarian Roma even before the fall of Communism in eastern Europe within the framework of various self-organizing networks. After 1990 he was active as a Roma mediator, as chairman of various Roma NGO´s and was also a member of the international committee for the creation of an exhibition on the genocide against the Roma and Sinti in the State Museum of Auschwitz. In addition to this, he was elected to the Hungarian Parliament in 2002 and in 2006 as a member of Parliament of the Socialist Party of Hungary (Magyar Szocialista Párt – MSZP). He served as a political state secretary in the Ministry of Youth, Family, Social Welfare and Equality from October 2004 to June 2006 and serves today as the Chairman of the Interministerial Committee for Roma Affairs.

Erwin Teufel

Erwin Teufel

Erwin Teufel completed a degree in Public Adminstration and was mayor of Spaichingen from 1964 to 1972. After his election to the state parliament of Baden-Württemberg, he served as state secretary at the Ministry of the Interior and the Ministry of the Environment in various state governments and was elected Minister-President of the Federal State of Baden-Württemberg in January 1991. Erwin Teufel held office as Minister-President until April 2005. Today, among other he serves as a member of the Deutsche Ethikrat. In addition to a large number of honours from German and international institutions, he received the Teddy Kollek Prize in 2005 for his meritorious service to Jerusalem and German-Israeli relations. Erwin Teufel has been a member of the board of trustees of the Documentation and Cultural Center of German Sinti and Roma since May 2002.

Johan „Zoni“ Weisz

Johan „Zoni“ Weisz

Johan “Zoni” Weisz was born in The Hague, Netherlands, in 1937, is a Sinto and was the only member of his immediate family to survive the National Socialist reign of terror in the Netherlands. His parents and siblings were murdered in Auschwitz. After an apprenticeship as a flower binder, he studied exhibition design and history of art and as a self-employed entrepreneur became one of the leading florists in the country. In this respect, he has designed and decorated a large number of large national events. He has represented the Dutch flower industry in the United States, Canada and numerous European countries for more than 40 years. In 2002 Johan Weisz has been made „Officer in de Orde van Oranje Nassau” (Officer in the Order of Oranje Nassau) by Queen Beatrix of The Netherlands for this service and his campaigning on behalf of the Sinti and Roma minority of the country.

Mitglieder der Jury

Dr. Anastasia Crickley

Dr. Anastasia Crickley

Dr. Anastasia Crickley wurde nach ihrem Studium der Sozialwissenschaften in Swansea und Bradford Leiterin der Abteilung für Angewandte Sozialwissenschaften an der Universität von Irland in Maynooth. Darüber hinaus hat sie sich seit vielen Jahren zugunsten unterdrückter Minderheiten in Irland und in anderen Teilen Europas engagiert. Sie besitzt langjährige Erfahrung in der Arbeit mit Minderheiten und ist Vorsitzende und Gründungsmitglied einer Vielzahl richtungsweisender Organisationen und Kommissionen.  Anastasia Crickley war von 2004 bis 2009 Vorsitzende des Nationalen Beratungsausschuss gegen Rassismus und Diskriminierung, von 2007 bis 2010 Vorsitzende und Mitglied des Aufsichtsrates der Behörde für Grundrechte und wurde kürzlich in das UN-Komitee gegen Rassendiskriminierung gewählt. In Ausübung dieser Funktion ist sie die erste irische Frau innerhalb eines UN-Kommitees.

Maud de Boer-Buquicchio

Maud de Boer-Buquicchio

Maud de Boer-Buquicchio begann nach dem Studium des Französischen und der Rechtswissenschaften in Leiden im Jahr 1969 ihre berufliche Karriere im Europarat. In verschiedenen Funktionen beim Europarat hat sie sich insbesondere dem Thema Menschenrechte gewidmet. Als Stellvertretende Registratorin des Europäischen Menschenrechtsgerichtshofs war sie an der Gründung des neuen Europäischen Menschenrechtsgerichtshofs beteiligt. Im Juni 2002 ist Maud de Boer-Buquicchio als erste Frau zur stellvertretenden Generalsekretärin des Europarats ernannt worden. Im Jahr 2007 ist sie für eine zweite fünfjährige Amtsperiode wiedergewählt worden. In dieser Funktion hat sie sich in besonderer Weise für den Schutz bedrohter Gruppen wie insbesondere die nationalen Minderheiten oder von Roma und Sinti eingesetzt.

Roman Kwiatkowski

Roman Kwiatkowski

Roman Kwiatkowski ist eine der bedeutendsten Persönlichkeiten der Bürgerrechtsbewegung der Roma in Polen und einer der Mitbegründer des Verbands der Roma in Polen, als deren Direktoriumsvorsitzender er seit dem Jahr 1997 fungiert. In dieser Funktion organisiert er unter anderem Kultur- und Bildungsveranstaltungen zur Geschichte der Roma-Minderheit sowie die jährlichen Gedenkfeiern in der Gedenkstätte Auschwitz zur Erinnerung an die Opfer der „Liquidierung“ des „Zigeunerlagers“ am 2. August 1944. Roman Kwiatkowski war Mitglied im Internationalen Komitee für die Errichtung einer Ausstellung zum Völkermord an den Roma und Sinti im Staatlichen Museum Auschwitz, ist Mitglied im polnischen Auschwitz-Komitee und Autor zahlreicher Fachpublikationen.

 

Dr. h. c. Manfred Lautenschläger

Dr. h. c. Manfred Lautenschläger

Manfred Lautenschläger ist einer der Gründer des seit 1971 bestehenden Finanzdienstleisters MLP. In der Zeit von 1984 bis 1999 fungierte er als deren Vorstands-vorsitzender und wechselte dann in den Aufsichtsrat des Unternehmens. Im Jahr 2002 rief er die Manfred Lautenschläger Stiftung ins Leben, deren Zweck die Förderung von Wissenschaft und Forschung, Bildung und Erziehung, Kunst und Kultur sowie der Völkerverständigung ist. Manfred Lautenschläger ist Ehrendoktor der theologischen Fakultät der Universität Heidelberg, Ehrensenator der Universität Heidelberg und der Hochschule für Jüdische Studien Heidelberg sowie Mitglied des Universitätsrates der Universität Heidelberg. Seit Juli 2002 gehört Manfred Lautenschläger dem Kuratorium des Dokumentations- und Kulturzentrums Deutscher Sinti und Roma an. Er ist Stifter des Europäischen Bürgerrechtspreises der Sinti und Roma.

Romani Rose

Romani Rose

Romani Rose ist seit 1982 Vorsitzender des Zentralrats Deutscher Sinti und Roma und darüber hinaus Vorsitzender des Dokumentations- und Kulturzentrums Deutscher Sinti und Roma. Mit Minderheitenvertretern aus den USA, Mexiko, Argentinien, Japan, Indien, Sri Lanka, Frankreich und Holland ist Romani Rose seit 1988 Mitbegründer und Direktoriumsmitglied der Internationalen Bewegung gegen Diskriminierung und Rassismus (IMADR). Als Vorsitzender des Zentralrats gehört Romani Rose außerdem dem „Deutschen Minderheitengipfel“ an, also den regelmäßigen Treffen der Vorsitzenden der nationalen Minderheiten in Deutschland (Sorben, Friesen, Dänen und Sinti und Roma). Im Mai 2006 wurde Romani Rose darüber hinaus in den Internationalen Auschwitz-Rat sowie in den Beirat der Antidiskriminierungsstelle des Bundes berufen.

László Teleki

László Teleki

László Teleki, geb. 1959 in Nagykaniza, Ungarn, hat sich nach einem Ingenieursstudium bereits vor der politischen Wende in Osteuropa im Rahmen von verschiedenen Selbstorganisationen für die Belange der ungarischen Roma engagiert. Nach 1990 war er unter anderem als Roma-Mediator sowie als Vorsitzender verschiedener Roma-Selbstorganisationen aktiv und war zudem Mitglied im Internationalen Komitee für die Errichtung einer Ausstellung zum Völkermord an den Roma und Sinti im Staatlichen Museum Auschwitz. Darüber hinaus ist er im Jahr 2002 und im Jahr 2006 als Abgeordneter der Sozialistischen Partei Ungarns (Magyar Szocialista Párt – MSZP) in das ungarische Parlament gewählt worden. Er arbeitete in der Zeit zwischen Oktober 2004 und Juni 2006 als politischer Staatssekretär des Ministeriums für Jugend, Familie, Soziales und Gleichstellung und ist gegenwärtig Vorsitzender des Interministeriellen Komitees für Roma-Angelegenheiten.

Erwin Teufel

Erwin Teufel

Erwin Teufel war nach seiner Ausbildung zum Diplom-Verwaltungswirt von 1964 bis1972 Bürgermeister von Spaichingen. Nach seiner Wahl in den Landtag von Baden-Württemberg fungierte er als Staatssekretär im Innen- und im Umweltministerium in verschiedenen Landesregierungen und wurde im Januar 1991 zum Ministerpräsidenten des Landes Baden-Württemberg gewählt. Erwin Teufel amtierte als Ministerpräsident bis zum April 2005 und ist heute unter anderem Mitglied im Deutschen Ethikrat. Neben zahlreichen Ehrungen durch deutsche und internationale Einrichtungen erhielt er im Jahr 2005 den Teddy-Kollek-Preis für seinen Einsatz für Jerusalem und die deutsch-israelischen Beziehungen. Erwin Teufel ist seit Mai 2002 Mitglied im Kuratorium des Dokumentations- und Kulturzentrums Deutscher Sinti und Roma.

Johan „Zoni“ Weisz

Johan „Zoni“ Weisz

Johan „Zoni“ Weisz ist Sinto und hat als einziges Mitglied des engeren Familienkreises die nationalsozialistische Terrorherrschaft in den Niederlanden überlebt. Seine Eltern und Geschwister wurden in Auschwitz ermordet. Nach einer Lehre als Blumenbinder studierte er zusätzlich Ausstellungsarchitektur und Kunstgeschichte und wurde als selbständiger Unternehmer einer der führenden Floristen des Landes und hat in dieser Funktion die Gestaltung und Dekoration zahlreicher staatlicher Großveranstaltungen realisiert. Über mehr als 40 Jahre hinweg hat er als Repräsentant der holländischen Blumenindustrie deren Werbeauftritte in den Vereinigten Staaten, Kanada und in zahlreichen europäischen Staaten organisiert. Im Jahr 2002 wurde Johan Weisz für seinen Einsatz zugunsten der Blumenindustrie und für die Sinti und Roma-Minderheit des Landes von Königin Beatrix zum „Officier in de Orde van Oranje Nassau“ (Offizier im Orden von Oranje Nassau) ernannt.